2016 Jury Member

The Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Location: Hong Kong

Joseph J. Y. Sung
Hong Kong

Vice-Chancellor and President of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Professor Joseph J. Y. Sung is a renowned gastroenterologist whose pioneering research has earned him the reputation as a world leader in his field. Sung received a bachelor’s degree in medicine and surgery from the University of Hong Kong (1983) and an MD degree from the Chinese University of Hong Kong (1997). While pursuing his doctorate in biomedical sciences at Canada’s University of Calgary (1992), he began looking beyond the world of medicine to the value of holistic education. Since the early 1990s, Sung has held varying academic positions at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, including his present roles as Chair Professor of Medicine and Therapeutics, Mok Hing Yiu Professor of Medicine, and Vice-Chancellor, a position he will hold until 2018. He also served as head of Shaw College from 2008-2010. Sung is known as an unconventional and popular Vice-Chancellor who regards the university as “a place for freedom of research and freedom of expression”. He famously argues that a university should be “romantic” and should nurture students who care about society and find solutions. In 2011, he initiated the I-Care Leadership Programme, with the aim of fostering civic engagement among students. Emphasizing his belief that concern about the arts is linked to concern about society, the programme’s first public lecture was given by Taiwanese choreographer Lin Hwai-min (Rolex mentor 2012-2013). Sung, who has edited or authored 15 books, has received many accolades for his contributions to the advancement of medical science and academic development. He was named an “Asian Hero” by Time magazine for his team’s work in leading Hong Kong’s fight against the deadly SARS viral outbreak in 2003, and, in 2008, won the Laurel Award from the Prevent Cancer Foundation (US) More recently, he has been honoured by China’s Ministry of Education and by the World Chinese Business Investment Foundation with the World Outstanding Chinese Award.

Other 2016 Jury Members